You are here
Personal Injury Laws: Connecticut
Personal injury claims filed in Connecticut are governed by the state laws and statutes of the civil litigation system. Filing a successful claim in the state of Connecticut typically requires the assistance of a lawyer familiar with working under the state system. An attorney will be capable of appropriately addressing the issues of fault and liability under state statutes and will work to get you the fairest settlement or award of damages possible in your claim.
Connecticut is a “Comparative-Fault” State
Some states deem that individuals who are even minimally responsible for their own injuries cannot hold anyone else liable for damages in a personal injury lawsuit. In Connecticut however, you may be as much as half responsible for your own injuries and still file for damages against another individual or entity.
Additionally, you can hold multiple parties responsible for your injuries as long as you’re no more than 50 percent responsible for the injuries you suffered. It is crucial to understand though that the compensation you can receive in a Connecticut personal injury lawsuit is reduced according your own degree or percentage of responsibility. In other words, if you are 30 percent responsible for your own injuries, you can only receive 70 percent of the damages that may be applicable in your case.
A personal injury attorney can help you establish comparative-fault or contributory negligence in your claim. He or she will work to prove you were not at fault for your own injuries or to at least reduce the degree of responsibility you’re found to hold.
Potential Damages for Personal Injury in Connecticut
Damages that can be included in personal injury claims vary by state. In Connecticut, you can seek damages for the financial and non-financial losses you’ve experienced as a result of your injuries. Financial losses can include medical expenses, property damage costs, expenses for household help or assistance care, lost wages, and loss of future earnings. You can additionally seek damages for permanent disability or disfigurement as well as non-financial damages for the pain and suffering you’ve experienced. A personal injury attorney familiar with handling claims in Connecticut can advise you on the type and amount of damages you should seek in your claim.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Connecticut
Every state limits the timeframe for filing a personal injury claim. This timeframe is known as the statute of limitations and in Connecticut you have two years to file a lawsuit. The timeframe for filing begins the moment you realize you’ve suffered harm due to the negligent or intentional actions of another. In most instances, injuries are readily apparent, though there are some cases in which the signs and symptoms of injuries do not present for weeks, months and sometimes years later. If you’ve suffered such injuries, you will need the assistance of a personal injury attorney to prove your circumstances fall outside the scope of the normal statute of limitations. An attorney may be able to get your case heard despite the delay in filing for damages.